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Title 163 - Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
Chapter 5 — State Parks Regulations
001 General regulations governing the administration and use of state park property

The following regulations are prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission, State of Nebraska
in accordance with Neb. Rev. Stat. 88 37-301 through 37-313, 37-337 through 37-352, 37-434
through 37-446, 37-1001 through 37-1015, 37-1264 and 37-1266, 60-314 and 60-3,105, 60-680,
60-6,190, 60-6,334, and 60-6,353 through 60-6,362. Rules and regulations are adopted and
promulgated to govern the administration, use, maintenance and protection of all state parks,
state historical parks, state recreation areas and state recreation trails under the ownership or
control of said Commission. For purposes of these regulations, unless context otherwise requires,
the definitions found in Chapter 37, sections 202 through 247 of the Game Law, are used.

The rules and regulations contained in this section shall apply to all persons entering, using,
residing in, visiting or who are otherwise within the boundaries of any state owned or controlled
park, historical park, recreation area or recreation trail administered by the Commission. The
special regulations contained in this section also apply to all persons entering, using, residing in
or visiting the areas for which such special regulations are adopted.

DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply to all regulations contained in this section.

(a) Commission shall mean the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.

(b) Director shall mean the Director of the Game and Parks Commission.

(© Park Superintendent shall mean any official in charge of a park area, or his authorized
representative.

(d) Law Enforcement Officer shall mean any duly constituted and credentialed law
enforcement officer, local, state or federal, including but not limited to Commission
Conservation Officers.

(e) Park Area shall mean all state owned or controlled parks, historical parks, recreation
areas, and recreation trails administered by the Commission.

PART 5 - State Park Regulations

001.01 Abandoned Property
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001.01A Abandonment of any vehicle or other personal property is prohibited and
such property may be impounded by the Park Superintendent or Law Enforcement
Officer.

001.01B Leaving any vehicle or other personal property unattended for longer
than 24 hours, without prior permission of the Park Superintendent is prohibited
and any property so left may be impounded by the Park Superintendent or Law
Enforcement Officer. In the event unattended property interferes with the safe or
orderly management of the park area, it may be impounded by the Park
Superintendent or Law Enforcement Officer at any time, and such property shall
be impounded at the expense of the owner.

Aircraft and Powerless Flight

001.02A The operation or use of aircraft on lands or waters other than at landing
areas designated in special regulations is prohibited. Where water surface is
designated as a landing area, the operation or use of aircraft on the water within
500 feet of bathing beaches, boat docks, piers, ramps, or within 1 mile of water
control structures is prohibited.

001.02B Except in extreme emergencies involving the safety of human life or
threat of serious property loss, the air delivery of any person or thing by parachute,
helicopter or other means without prior written permission of the Commission is
prohibited.

001.02C The provisions of this section shall not be applicable to aircraft engaged
on official business of the State Government, or used in emergency rescue in
accordance with the directions of the Park Superintendent, or forced to land due
to circumstances beyond the control of the operator.
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001.02D The operation of aircraft shall be in accordance with current applicable
regulations of the Federal Aviation Agency.

001.02E The launching or landing of sailplanes, gliders, balloons, body kites, hang
gliders and other devices designed to carry persons or objects through the air in
powerless flight is prohibited without a written permit from the Commission
specifying the conditions under which such launching or landing is to be
conducted.

001.03 Audio Devices

001.03A The operation or use of any audio device including a radio, television set,
musical instrument, or a device producing noise such as an electric generating
plant, a motor vehicle, a motorized toy, or other equipment driven by a motor or
engine in such a manner or at such time so as to unreasonably annoy or endanger
persons in campgrounds, picnic areas or at other public places or gatherings is
prohibited.

001.03B The operation or use of a public address system, whether fixed, portable,
or vehicle mounted, on lands, waters or highways, is prohibited, except when such
use or operation is in connection with a public gathering or special event for which
a permit has been issued.

001.04 Begging and Soliciting

001.04A Begging is prohibited.

001.04B Hitchhiking or the soliciting of transportation is prohibited, except in
emergencies and cases of vehicle breakdown.

001.04C Commercial soliciting of any kind without a permit is prohibited: Provided,
that this section shall not apply to transactions with authorized concessionaires.

001.05 Camping

001.05A Camping is defined as the temporary lodging out-of-doors for outdoor
recreational purposes including, but not limited to occupancy of a shelter designed
for such purpose (i.e. tents, or camping unit).

001.05B Park area is defined as the area within the legal boundaries of any real
property owned, operated, managed or leased by the Nebraska Game and Parks
Commission and administered by the Parks Division of the same, including but not
limited to State Parks, State Historical Parks, and State Recreation Areas.

001.05C A camping unit is defined as a cabin trailer, camping trailer, fifth-wheel
trailer, motor home, park trailer, travel trailer, truck camper, van conversion or other
recreational vehicle primarily designed as temporary living quarters for
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recreational, camping, or travel use, which unit either has its own motive power or
is mounted on or towed by another vehicle as referenced in § 60-314; 60-
6,288(2)(k); and 71-4603 (1)(7)(14)(16)(19)(22)(23)(24).

001.05D Camping and the use of trailers or other camping unit is permitted only at
designated locations, or in areas as approved by the Park Superintendent at
undesignated locations. Within designated locations, the pitching of tents or
parking of trailers or other camping units is permitted only at designated sites.

001.05E A campground is defined as an area in which multiple campsites are
established or identified. The Park Superintendent can establish temporary
campgrounds or campsites for special events or when demand warrants such
need.

001.05F A campsite is a defined area on which camping is permitted by patrons
who have registered and paid fees for the use of the defined area. Campsites may
be labeled by a number or name depicted on a post, sign or similar object. The
defined area of a campsite includes any improvements located near the campsite’s
label; including but not limited to pull-ins, fire rings/grates, and/or picnic tables or
structures, unless such improvements are separately labeled and intended for
individual reservation or public use or public access.

001.05G The maximum occupancy of a campsite is: (1) one camping unit and
one tent; (2) two tents; (3) additional tent(s) as pre-approved by the Park
Superintendent; or (4) in the event patrons elect to sleep outside of a tent or
camping unit, the amount of persons as pre-approved by the Park Superintendent.
A “bug screen” structure shall be considered a tent for the purposes of this
regulation if used for overnight occupancy. Additional tents or occupants may be
assessed an additional camping fee in accordance with the current fee schedule
established by the Commission.

001.05G1 Occupancy at a campsite will allow for one (1) vehicle that is
used to tow or transport the camping unit, or one (1) vehicle that is towed
by the camping unit. Extra vehicles or trailers must be parked in alternate
locations provided or designated for purposes of parking, or in areas
approved by the Park Superintendent.

001.05G2 Occupancy at a campsite will allow for up to eight (8) individuals,
unless limiting factors such as terrain, safety, resource protection or
infrastructure capacity exist, as determined by the Park Superintendent.
The Park Superintendent may allow for occupancy exceeding eight (8)
individuals when limiting factors at a campsite do not exist or are mitigated.

001.05H The Park Superintendent may allow camping in undesignated areas
outside of a campground when those locations can appropriately accommodate
patrons for overnight occupancy, and assess a camping fee in accordance with
the current fee schedule established by the Commission.
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001.051 Camping, or occupying locations within a park area or campground is
permitted for a maximum of 14 consecutive days during any 30-day period except
as provided Part 001.050Q, and excluding portions of a park area assigned to third
party operators under separate concession agreements or permits. For purposes
of Sub-section 001.05, the 14 consecutive days means 14 calendar days with the
first day being the first day a campsite or location is deemed unavailable to other
park patrons via proper payment for or occupancy of that location; (i.e. campsite,
cabin, lodge room, shelter, etc). The installation of permanent camping facilities is
prohibited. Following the 14" day as defined above, a patron may re-register and
relocate to a different unoccupied and available campsite within a park area as
follows:

001.05I1 In park areas that offer more than one (1) campground, and when
25% or more of existing campsites are available, the Park Superintendent,
or their designee, may allow a patron to re-register for an unoccupied and
available campsite within the other campground. The patron must gain
permission from the Park Superintendent, or their designee, in advance
and must physically relocate the camping unit/tent(s) to the campsite within
the other campground.

001.0512 In park areas that only offer one (1) campground, and when 25%
or more of existing campsites are available, the Park Superintendent, or
their designee, may allow a patron to re-register for an unoccupied and
available campsite within the same campground. The patron must gain
permission from the Park Superintendent, or their designee, in advance
and must physically relocate the camping unit/tent(s) to the other campsite.

001.0513 Inundesignated camping areas, the Park Superintendent, or their
designee, may allow a patron to re-register and physically relocate to
another location based upon availability of sites and area limitations, and
in consideration of public safety and natural resource protection.

001.05J The digging or leveling of ground at any campsite is prohibited except
with permission of the Park Superintendent.

001.05K A camping unit may not exceed 102 inches in width, 40 feet in length, or
13 Y feet in height as defined by § 60-314.

001.05L Camping equipment and personal items must be completely removed
and the campsite(s) cleaned upon the completion of the final day of the reservation
or use of the campsite or camping area, with all trash/refuse placed in designated
receptacles, and campfires completely extinguished prior to departure.

001.05M Quiet shall be maintained in all campgrounds between the hours of 10
p.m. and 6 a.m.
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001.05N The reservation of campsites designated “for advance reservations” in
designated campgrounds is permitted through the Commission's reservation
system and is subject to the Commission’s reservation procedures.

001.050 Campsites identified as “first come-first served” and not designated as
“for advance reservations” may be purchased when available and unoccupied. At
the time of the purchase, the patron must be able to physically occupy the campsite
immediately. If the patron is unable to immediately and physically occupy the
campsite at the time of purchase, the Park Superintendent, or their designee, may
approve a delayed arrival, not to exceed 12:00 p.m., (Noon), of the following day.
A campsite will be deemed physically occupied when a camping unit as defined in
001.05C, or a shelter defined for camping, as described in 001.05A, is erected
upon the campsite.

A campsite must be properly registered and paid for before a patron can physically
occupy any site.

Reserving a campsite by leaving a vehicle or other property unattended is
prohibited without prior permission of the Park Superintendent and such property
is subject to impoundment by the Park Superintendent or Law Enforcement Officer
in accordance with Sub-section 001.01.

001.05P Where indicated by appropriate sign at the entrance to a designated
camping area, permission to enter or occupy such area is reserved to campers
between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. No other persons shall have permission
to enter or occupy such areas unless specifically authorized by the Park
Superintendent.

001.05Q The Park Superintendent, upon approval of Parks Division
Administration, may designate campsites, or specific areas for extended rental for
periods up to, but not exceeding, 90 days.

001.06 Closures

001.06A The Commission may establish a reasonable schedule of visiting hours
for all or portions of a park area and close to public use all or any portion of a park
area when necessary for the protection of an area or the safety and welfare of
persons or property by the posting of appropriate signs indicating the extent and
scope of such closure.

001.06B All persons shall observe and abide by officially posted signs designating
closed areas and visiting hours.

001.07 Dogs, Cats, Other Pets & Livestock
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001.07A Dogs, cats and other pets, certified service animals excluded, are
prohibited unless they are crated, caged, or on a leash or otherwise under physical
restrictive control at all times. Leashes may not exceed six (6) feet in length. Pets
which become a nuisance shall be removed from the area.

001.07B Unless authorized by the Park Superintendent, pets are prohibited in
public eating places and food stores, public buildings, and on designated
swimming beaches. This paragraph shall not apply to certified service animals.

001.07C Except in designated and posted “off leash” areas, dogs, cats or other
pets running at large and observed by an authorized person may be detained and
confined at the owner’s expense. Dogs, cats, or other pets running at large and
observed by an authorized person in the act of killing, injuring or molesting humans
or wildlife may be disposed of in the interest of public safety and protection of the
wildlife.

001.07D In park areas where hunting is permitted, within established seasons,
and as otherwise allowed by game law and Nebraska Game and Parks
Commission regulations, the use of hunting dogs is allowed provided the area is
open to hunting and the dogs' owners or handlers accompany and have control of
such dogs and are responsible for the actions of such dogs.

001.07E Grazing or ranging domestic animals or poultry is prohibited without prior
written authorization by the Commission.

001.07F Horseback riding and the use of pack animals is permitted only on
roadways, designated equestrian trails, and on designated areas.

001.07G Riding or hitching horses, or other saddle or pack animals in
campgrounds or picnic areas, or within the immediate vicinity of trail shelters,
eating or sleeping establishments or other areas of public gatherings, except
where trails and facilities are provided for such use, is prohibited.

001.07H Riders shall slow their horses to a slow trot or walk when passing persons
on foot or bicycle.

001.071 Pedestrians on trails shall remain quiet when horses or pack animals are
passing.

001.08 Explosives and Fireworks

001.08A The use or possession of explosives is prohibited except upon written
permission of the Commission.

001.08B The use or possession of fireworks is permitted only in areas or portions
of areas designated for such use by appropriate Commission posting. No
permission is granted for the use or possession of such fireworks in other than
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designated areas and such possession and use shall conform to applicable laws
of the State of Nebraska.

001.08C Organized fireworks displays open to the general public without charge
and sponsored by a responsible agency or organization, may be permitted by
written authorization by the Commission and the State Fire Marshal.

001.09 Fires

001.09A The kindling of any fire is permitted only: In designated camping and
picnic grounds when the fire is confined in a fireplace provided for the use of
visitors, or in grills, or in locations specified by the Park Superintendent; or in stoves
or lanterns using gasoline, propane, butane gas or similar fuels.

001.09B Fires must be kindled in such manner that no tree, shrub, grass or other
combustible matter will be set on fire or caused to be set on fire.

001.09C When no longer needed, the fire shall be completely extinguished.
Leaving a fire unattended is prohibited.

001.09D Throwing or dropping a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe heel, match or other
burning material is prohibited.

001.09E The kindling of fires on park lands owned or controlled by the
Commission may be prohibited by the Park Superintendent by posted signs when
the fire hazard makes such action necessary.

001.09F The Park Superintendent, during such periods of time as he may
prescribe, may prohibit smoking on any park lands, including roads and trails, by
the posting of appropriate signs.

001.09G The kindling of fires or the use of any type of cooking device is expressly
prohibited on any designated swimming beach.

001.10 Fishing, Hunting, Trapping, Use of Firearms, Bow and Arrows, Paint Ball

Weapons, and Other Projectile Devices

001.10A Fishing is permitted on all park lands subject to general fishing
regulations and to specific local regulations.

001.10B Any area or portion of area may be closed to all or any form or method
of fishing by posting of appropriate signs.

001.10C Fishing from or within 20 yards of any public boat ramp, boat dock,
mooring area or swimming beach is prohibited.

001.10D Fishing from motor road bridges is prohibited.
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001.10E Hunting or the use of firearms, bow and arrow or other projectile devices
is prohibited on state parks, state recreation areas or state historical parks with the
following exceptions:

001.10E1 State Recreation Areas or portions thereof are open to hunting
subject to general hunting regulations from the first Tuesday following
Labor Day through conclusion of the Spring Turkey season, unless
prohibited or restricted by appropriate signs or specific area regulations.
Hunting is prohibited within 100 yards of any public-use facility or activity
area, including picnic areas, campgrounds, private cabin and concession
areas, boat ramps and parking lots.

001.10E2 State Park Areas and State Historical Parks or portions thereof
open to hunting in accordance with general hunting regulations and special
area regulations.

001.10E3 Firearms used by law enforcement officers in performance of
their duties.

001.10E4 Firearms used in training sessions by Commission personnel or
firearms or other projectile devices used in exhibitions authorized by the
Commission.

001.10E5 Firearms or other projectile devices authorized for use by the
public on designated ranges.

001.10E6 Fishing with bow and arrow is permitted subject to general
fishing regulations and to specific local regulations.

001.10F Trapping of furbearers, including unprotected species, is
permitted on state recreation areas only during trapping seasons
established annually by the Commission for protected species, subject to
general trapping regulations for state-controlled lands unless prohibited or
restricted by appropriate signs or specific area regulations. Trapping is
prohibited within 100 yards of any public-use facility or activity area,
including picnic areas, campgrounds, private cabin and concession areas,
boat ramps and parking lots.

001.10G Trapping on state parks and historical parks and within 100 yards
of public-use facilities and activity areas on state recreation areas is
authorized only by special permit and only at such times as when the Park
Superintendent determines sufficient depredation is occurring to warrant
the removal of surplus furbearers. Such special permit shall be granted to
an applicant or applicants selected by a drawing.
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001.10H Applications for depredation trapping permits shall consist of a
letter directed to the Commission's Central offices requesting such a permit
to trap at a specific area or areas. Applications shall be filed not later than
August 31 of each year.

001.101 The use of and/or possession of paint ball weapons of any type
shall be prohibited on park areas.

On January 1, 2011, the following Sub-section 001.11 shall become effective and shall
supersede and take the place of any prior version of that section.

Intoxication: Possession of Alcohol, Consumption of Alcohol, Open Alcohol

Containers

001.11A Alcohol possession, consumption or possession of an open container on
park areas owned or controlled by the Commission is permitted with the following
exceptions:

001.11A1 Possession is prohibited on any park area or portions of any
park area when mandated by the terms of a management agreement with
the controlling landowner.

001.11A2 Consumption or possession of an open container is prohibited
on all roadways, designated swimming areas and parking areas.

001.11A3 Consumption or the possession of alcohol may be prohibited on
any park area or portions thereof with the use of appropriate signage.

001.11A4 Consumption or the possession of an open container is
prohibited between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless specifically
authorized by an approved Special Occasion Permit (001.13).

001.11A5 Possession of alcohol is prohibited on all portions of the Lake
McConaughy and Lake Ogallala State Recreation Areas managed by the
Commission except:
001.11A5a. Those areas operating under the authority of a valid
lease agreement with the Commission or traveling directly to or
from a private lease.

001.11A5b. Temporary authorization to include the distribution or
resale of alcoholic beverages by a licensed State of Nebraska third
party may be allowed on portions of the area when approved in
accordance with a Special Occasion Permit (001.13).
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001.11B Containers of alcoholic beverages whose single liquid capacity is greater
than one gallon are prohibited.

001.11C Presence in a park area when under the influence of alcohol or drugs, to
a degree that may endanger oneself, or another person, or property, or may cause
unreasonable interference with another person's enjoyment of a park area is
prohibited.

001.12 Permits, Motor Vehicle Entry

Except as hereinafter provided, it shall be unlawful for any motor vehicle to enter a state
park area designated as a permit area without properly displaying a valid motor vehicle
entry permit in accordance with applicable state park regulations.

001.12A Definitions
Permit: Shall mean motor vehicle entry permit.

Permit Area: Those areas of the Nebraska State Park System designated by the
Game and Parks Commission for which entry permits shall be required.

001.12B Operation

There shall be three (3) types of motor vehicle entry permits to identify and
differentiate between:

1.) Vehicles registered and licensed in Nebraska,

2.) Vehicles not registered and/or licensed in Nebraska (out-of-state).

3.) Vehicles registered and licensed in Nebraska to disabled veterans with
a Nebraska Resident Disabled American Veterans Permit.

Each permit type shall be available to the public in four (4) forms; Annual, Duplicate
Annual, Temporary (Daily), and Self-service temporary (Daily), except for the
Nebraska Resident Disabled American Veterans Permit which is available only as
a lifetime permit and is valid for the qualifying veteran’s lifetime.

Designated permit areas or portions thereof requiring a valid motor vehicle entry
permit shall be defined as follows unless otherwise posted: All State Parks, all
State Historical Parks and all State Recreation. Those sites within such areas
designated as concession and/or seasonal cabin areas shall be classified as
exempt from the entry permit requirement. Motor vehicles visiting and/or utilizing
the premises of a designated Club Site lease within the confines of a permit area
shall not be exempt from the permit requirement.

Annual and Duplicate Annual Permits and the Nebraska Resident Disabled
American Veterans Permit shall be permanently affixed to the inside, lower left-
hand corner (drivers side) of the windshield of motor vehicles with windshields. In
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the case of motor vehicles without windshields, it shall be the responsibility of the
operator to permanently affix the permit to the vehicle so as to be readily visible to
inspection by any Commission employee. Motor vehicles bearing dealer number
plates shall display a valid motor vehicle entry permit but are not required to have
such permit permanently affixed.

Temporary (Daily) permits shall be temporarily affixed to the inside, lower left-hand
corner (driver’s side) of the windshield of motor vehicles with windshields. In the
case of motor vehicles without windshields, it shall be the responsibility of the
operator to temporarily affix the permit to the vehicle so as to be readily visible to
inspection by any Commission employee. Permits shall be valid only for the dates
indicated on the permit and for the vehicle to which it is issued. Permits are non-
transferable.

Self-Service Temporary (Daily) Permits shall be valid only for the area where
purchased. It shall be the responsibility of the operator to date and complete the
pay envelope, tear off the receipt which shall be the temporary permit, and deposit
payment therefore into the drop box provided. The self-service temporary permit
shall be displayed in a location so as to be readily visible to inspection by a
Commission employee. Self-service temporary permits are non-transferrable.

The annual permit may be purchased by any person and shall be valid through
December 31 of the year for which issued. The temporary and self-service
temporary permit may be purchased by any person and shall be valid until noon of
the day following the activation date.

The fee for motor vehicle entry permits issued for vehicles registered and licensed
in Nebraska shall be thirty dollars ($30.00) for annual permits valid on or after
January 1, 2017. The fee of a temporary permit valid on or after January 1, 2017
shall be six dollars ($6.00).

The fee for permits issued for vehicles not registered and/or licensed in Nebraska
(out-of-state) shall be two times the fee for a resident motor vehicle fer annual
permits valid on or after January 1, 2022. The fee for the temporary permit for a
non-resident motor vehicle shall be two times the fee for a resident motor vehicle.

The registered owner of two or more motor vehicles may purchase one duplicate
annual permit for each full price annual permit purchased. The duplicate annual
permit shall be used on the purchaser's vehicle. The fee shall be half (1/2) the
cost of the annual permit. To qualify, the registered owner must purchase an
annual permit and surrender the completed receipt obtained therewith as proof of
purchase of said annual permit. The duplicate annual permit is valid through
December 31 of the year for which issued.

Duplicate annual permits may be obtained only from the Commission's
Headquarters and District Offices, areas of the state park system where
Commission offices are maintained, from designated permit vendors, online, and
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designated Commission employees. Annual and temporary permits may be
purchased from designated vendors of hunting and fishing permits in addition to
the above Commission installations and employees. A permit holder who sells his
or her vehicle to which a valid annual or duplicate annual permit has been attached
may purchase a duplicate annual permit upon surrendering the original permit or
a substantial portion thereof.

Permit vendors shall be entitled to collect and retain a fee of one dollar for each
annual or duplicate annual permit sold and thirty-five cents for each temporary
permit sold as reimbursement for the clerical work of issuing the permit and
remitting therefore. The issuing fee shall be collected in addition to the purchase
price established for each permit. Issuing fees shall not be collected for self-service
temporary permits.

001.12C Who Is Required?

Permits shall be required for all motor vehicles entering designated permit areas
at any time of the year, except such vehicles as are specifically exempted in §37-
436. For purposes of this section, exempt motor vehicles bearing state licenses
shall be defined as those motor vehicles owned or operated by the state, counties,
municipalities or school districts for which distinctive license plates have been
issued.

001.12D Replacement Permits

A replacement annual or duplicate annual permit may be obtained at no cost.To
gualify for a replacement permit, the owner of a valid permit shall surrender all or
more than half (1/2) of such permit to an employee at a designated Commission
office. A replacement permit must correspond to the same year, and is valid
through December 31 of the year for which issued except for the Nebraska
Resident Disabled American Veterans Permit which is valid for the qualifying
veteran’s lifetime.

Replacement annual or duplicate permits may be obtained only from the
Commission's Central and District Offices, areas of the state park system where
Commission offices are maintained and from designated Commission employees.
001.13 Permits, Special Occasion

001.13A Special Events

001.13A1 Sports events, pageants, re-enactments, regattas,
entertainments and the like, characterized as public spectator
attractions or participant activities, are allowed, provided written
permission therefor has been given by the Park Superintendent.
Such permits shall be issued only after a finding that the issuance
of such permit will not be inconsistent with the purposes for which
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the area is established and maintained and will not unreasonably
interfere with use of the area by the general public. A permit shall
be denied if such activities would:

(1) Cause injury or damage to park resources; or

(2) Be contrary to the purposes for which the park area was
established; or unreasonably impair the atmosphere of peace and
tranquility maintained in the park area; or

(3) Unreasonably interfere with interpretive, visitor service or other
program activities, or with the administrative activities of the
Commission; or

(4) Substantially impair the operation of public use facilities or
services of Commission concessionaires or contractors; or

(5) Present a clear and present danger to the public health and
safety; or

(6) Result in significant conflict with other existing uses.

001.13A2 An application for such a permit shall set forth the name
of the applicant, the date, time, duration, nature and place of the
proposed event, an estimate of the number of persons expected to
attend, a statement of equipment and facilities to be used, and any
other information required by the Park Superintendent. The
application shall be submitted so as to reach the Park
Superintendent at least 72 hours in advance of the proposed event.

001.13A3 As a condition of permit issuance, the Park
Superintendent may require:

(1) The filing of a bond payable to the Commission, in an amount
adequate to cover costs such as restoration, rehabilitation, and
cleanup of the area used, and other costs resulting from the special
event. Inlieu of a bond, a permittee may elect to deposit cash equal
to the amount of the required bond.

(2) In addition to the requirements of paragraph 001.13A3(1), the
acquisition of insurance in which the Commission is named as a co-
insured in an amount sufficient to protect the Commission.

001.13A4 The permit may contain such conditions as are

reasonably consistent with protection and use of the park area for
the purposes for which it is established. It may also contain

5-001-15



Title 163
Chapter 5

reasonable limitations on the equipment used and the time and area
within which the event is allowed.

001.13A5 Violation of the terms and conditions of a permit issued
in accordance with this section is prohibited and may result in the
suspension or revocation of the permit.

001.13B Public Meetings, Assemblies

001.13B1 Public meetings, assemblies, gatherings,
demonstrations, parades, religious services and other expressions
of views are allowed within park areas, provided written permission
therefor has been given by the Park Superintendent in accordance
with Commission policy.

001.13B2 An application for such a permit shall set forth the name
of the applicant, the date, time, duration, nature and place of the
proposed event, an estimate of the number of persons expected to
attend, a statement of equipment and facilities to be used, and any
other information required by the Park Superintendent.

001.13B3 The Park Superintendent shall, without unreasonable
delay, issue a permit on proper application unless:

(1) A prior application for a permit for the same time and place has
been made that has been or will be granted and the activities
authorized by that permit do not reasonably allow multiple
occupancy of that particular area; or

(2) It reasonably appears that the event will present a clear and
present danger to the public health or safety; or

(3) The event is of such nature or duration that it cannot be
reasonably accommodated in the particular location applied for,
considering such things as damage to park resources or facilities,
impairment of a protected area’s atmosphere of peace and
tranquility, interference with program activities, or impairment of
public use facilities.

001.13B4 If a permit is denied, the applicant shall be so informed
in writing, with the reasons for the denial set forth.

001.13B5 The Park Superintendent shall designate on a map, that
shall be available in the office of the Park Superintendent, the
locations available for public assemblies. Locations may be
designated as not available only if such activities would:

5-001-16



Title 163
Chapter 5

(1) Cause injury or damage to park resources; or

(2) Unreasonably impair the atmosphere of peace and tranquility
maintained in the park area; or

(3) Unreasonably interfere with interpretive, visitor service or other
program activities, or with the administrative activities of the
Commission; or

(4) Substantially impair the operation of public use facilities or
services of Commission concessionaires or contractors; or

(5) Present a clear and present danger to the public health and
safety.

001.13B6 The permit may contain such conditions as are
reasonably consistent with protection and use of the park area for
the purposes for which it is established. It may also contain
reasonable limitations on the equipment used and the time and area
within which the event is allowed.

001.13B7 No permit shall be issued for a period in excess of seven
(7) days, provided that permits may be extended for like periods,
upon a new application, unless another applicant has requested
use of the same location and multiple occupancy of that location is
not reasonably possible.

001.13B8 It is prohibited for persons engaged in activities covered
under this section to obstruct or impede pedestrians or vehicles, or
harass park visitors with physical contact or persistent demands.

001.13B9 A permit may be revoked under any of those conditions,
as listed in paragraph 001.13B3 of this section, that constitute
grounds for denial of a permit, or for violation of the terms and
conditions of the permit. Such a revocation shall be made in writing,
with the reason(s) for revocation clearly set forth, except under
emergency circumstances, when an immediate verbal revocation
or suspension may be made to be followed by written confirmation
within 72 hours.

001.13B10 Violation of the terms and conditions of a permit issued
in accordance with this section may result in suspension or
revocation of the permit.

001.13C Sale or Distribution of Printed Matter
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001.13C1 The sale or distribution of printed matter is allowed within
park areas, provided that a permit to do so has been issued by the
Park Superintendent, and provided further that the printed matter is
not solely commercial advertising.

001.13C2 The Park Superintendent shall, without unreasonable
delay, issue a permit on proper application unless:

(1) A prior application for a permit for the same time and place has
been made that has been or will be granted and the activities
authorized by that permit do not reasonably allow multiple
occupancy of that particular area; or

(2) It reasonably appears that the sale or distribution will present a
clear and present danger to the public health and safety; or

(3) The number of persons engaged in the sale or distribution
exceeds the number that can be reasonably accommodated in the
particular location applied for, considering such things as damage
to park resources or facilities, impairment of a protected area’s
atmosphere of peace and tranquility, interference with program
activities, or impairment of public use facilities; or

(4) The location applied for has not been designated as available
for the sale or distribution of printed matter; or

(5) The activity would constitute a violation of an applicable law or
regulation.

001.13C3 The Park Superintendent shall designate on a map that
shall be available in the office of the Park Superintendent the
locations available for the sale or distribution of printed matter.
Locations may be designated as not available only if the sale or
distribution would:

(1) Cause injury or damage to park resources; or

(2) Unreasonably impair the atmosphere of peace and tranquility
maintained in the park area; or

(3) Unreasonably interfere with interpretive, visitor service or other
program activities, or with the administrative activities of the
Commission; or

(4) Substantially impair the operation of public use facilities or
services of Commission concessionaires or contractors; or
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(5) Present a clear and present danger to the public health and
safety.

001.13C4 The permit may contain such conditions as are
reasonably consistent with protection and use of the park area for
the purposes for which it is established.

001.13C5 No permit shall be issued for a period in excess of seven
(7) consecutive days, provided that permits may be extended for
like periods, upon a new application, unless another applicant has
requested use of the same location and multiple occupancy of that
location is not reasonably possible.

001.13C6 It is prohibited for persons engaged in the sale or
distribution or printed matter under this section to obstruct or
impede pedestrians or vehicles, or harass park visitors with physical
contact or persistent demands, misrepresent the purposes or
affiliations of those engaged in the sale or distribution, or
misrepresent whether the printed matter is available without cost or
donation.

001.13C7 A permit may be revoked under any of those conditions,
as listed in paragraph 001.13C2 of this section, that constitute
grounds for denial of a permit, or for violation of the terms and
conditions of the permit. Such a revocation shall be made in writing,
with the reason(s) for revocation clearly set forth, except under
emergency circumstances, when an immediate verbal revocation
or suspension may be made to be followed by written confirmation
within 72 hours.

001.13C8 Violation of the terms and conditions of a permit issued
in accordance with this section may result in suspension or
revocation of the permit.

001.13D Filming Still and Motion Pictures

The filming of still or motion pictures of lands and facilities owned or
controlled by the Commission for commercial purposes is prohibited unless
written permission therefor has been given by the Commission.

001.14 Property, Preservation of Public

001.14A The possession, destruction, injury, defacement, removal or
disturbance in any manner of any building, sign, equipment, monument,
statue, marker or other structure, or of any animal or plant matter and direct
or indirect products thereof, including but not limited to petrified wood,
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flower, cane or other fruit, egg, nest, or nesting site, or of any soil, rock or
mineral formation, artifact, relic, historic or prehistoric feature, or of any
other public property of any kind without prior permission of the Park
Superintendent is prohibited.

001.14B The gathering or possession for personal consumption or use of
only such fruits and berries as the Park Superintendent may designate is
permitted. All such fruits and berries shall be picked only by hand. The
gathering or collecting of such objects for the purpose of sale is prohibited.

001.14C The possession and use of metal detectors is prohibited,;
provided, possession of such a device is permitted subject to the following
provisions:

001.14C1 Metal detectors may be used year around at designated
state recreation area swimming beaches posted as open to such
activity. During the period May 22 through September 7, usage is
restricted to the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m., daily. Metal
detectors must remain below the vegetation line above the beach.

001.14C2 Metal detectors are limited to portable, hand-held
devices only and digging equipment is limited to hand tools not
exceeding twelve inches in length by four inches in width and sand
scoops and sieves not over ten inches in diameter.

001.14C3 Operators of a metal detector shall wear or carry a litter
apron or bag, and all litter found is to be deposited in an approved
trash receptacle.

001.14C4 Operators may keep any non-identifiable items with a
nominal value of less than $25.00. Identifiable items, such as rings,
watches, etc., and all other items of value exceeding $25.00 are to
be deposited with the Park Superintendent. These provisions apply
to all lost and found articles including those found without the aid of
a metal detector.

001.14C5 Al historical, archeological or paleontological items
found are to be left undisturbed and their location reported to the
Park Superintendent.

001.14C6 Use of metal detectors in State Parks and State
Historical Parks is expressly prohibited except as herein provided.

001.14C7 Owners of lost items may use a metal detector in areas

where their use is otherwise prohibited, only upon prior
arrangement with the Park Superintendent.
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001.14D The destroying, digging, removing, or possession of any tree,
shrub or plant is prohibited; provided that the collection and possession of
dead wood found on the ground for use as fuel in campgrounds or picnic
areas is permitted except as posted by appropriate signs.

001.14E Dead timber which has been cut down and stockpiled for removal
from the park area by Commission personnel, may be further cut and
removed from the area by the public with the permission of the Park
Superintendent for personal consumption at home. The removal for the
purpose of sale is prohibited.

001.14F Entering, climbing upon, or tampering with State-owned motor
vehicles and motorized or power equipment is prohibited.

001.15 Property, Authorized Installation

001.15A No structure shall be permanently or semi-permanently installed
except by written consent of the Commission including fishing shelters or
blinds provided that:

001.15B Persons who place an ice fishing shelter on or over designated
water areas under the jurisdiction of the Game and Parks Commission shall
each year obtain a permit from the Commission pertaining to the building
or erection of such shelter for noncommercial purposes. Application forms
may be obtained by writing to the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission,
Post Office Box 30370, Lincoln, Nebraska, 68503, or from District Offices
or Conservation Officers.

001.15C Ice Fishing shelters may be placed and used under proper permit
at the following State Recreation Area lakes through February 10 of each
year unless otherwise posted as closed:

Bluestem, Branched Oak, Conestoga, Olive Creek, Pawnee, Stagecoach,
Wagon Train, Enders, Medicine Creek, Red Willow, and Swanson
Reservoirs, Box Butte, Bridgeport, Calamus Reservoir, Cottonwood,
Fremont Lakes, Gallagher Canyon, Johnson Lake, Fort Kearny, Lake
Maloney, Lake McConaughy, Lake Minatare, Lake Ogallala, Lewis and
Clark Lake, Louisville Lakes, Merritt Reservoir, Oliver Reservoir, Pibel,
Rockford, Summit, Sutherland Reservoir, Sherman Reservoir, Willow
Creek and Walgren. The size of any ice fishing shelter shall not be larger
than 4 ft. 6 in. width x 8 ft. length with 8 in. wide runners, 6 inches in distance
from the floor, and constructed of floatable materials.

001.15D The cost of such permit shall be affixed at $5.00 each. Fish
shelters must display on the outside door the name and address of the
owner and the permit number shall be affixed to the door of same in letters
not less than 6" in height.
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001.15E The door to any fish shelter shall be constructed so that it can be
opened from the outside at all times when in use and the shelters may be
locked when not in use. The Commission shall remove, burn or otherwise
destroy or dispose of such structures found on the ice after February 10
each year. The contents of any such structures left on the ice shall be
seized by the Commission and held for a period of thirty (30) days. After
such period, shelters and articles which have not been claimed by the
owner may be retained by the State for Disposal through the State Property
Officer.

001.15F The above regulations do not apply to temporary, portable
shelters that are erected and removed from frozen surfaces daily.

001.15G Hole size made for ice fishing on any area under jurisdiction of
the Game and Parks Commission shall not exceed ten (I0) inches in
diameter.

001.15H Daily waterfowl hunting blinds may be installed and used on state
recreation areas, provided that no blinds may be installed and used on
areas posted as closed to such activities.

001.151 Waterfowl hunters installing and using daily blinds on state
recreation areas shall be responsible for removing such blinds and other
personal property from the area at the close of hunting each day. Nothing
contained herein shall give permission to install seasonal or permanent
blinds on state recreation areas.

001.15J Hunting blinds and other personal property remaining on a state
recreation area following close of hunting shall be impounded in
accordance with Sub-section 001.01.

001.15K No person shall enter upon any area, or portion of any area, which
is temporarily closed to general public access and which is posted with
appropriate signs.

001.15L Digging or seining for any purpose on State owned or controlled
areas is prohibited.

001.15M No publicly owned personal property may be removed from any
area or be moved from its general location without specific permission from
the Commission or its authorized agents or employees.

001.15N Management personnel are specifically authorized to remove
structures and facilities in accord with applicable regulations.
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001.150 Failure by the permittee to remove his ice shelter by the dates
specified and in the manner stipulated in these regulations shall be cause
to revoke such permit and to restrict the permittee for future consideration
of such permits.

001.16 Sanitation

001.16A All garbage, papers, cans, bottles, waste materials and rubbish
of any kind must be deposited in places or containers designated for the
disposal thereof, or removed from the area.

001.16B Draining or dumping refuse or wastes from any trailer, or other
vehicle except in places or receptacles provided for such use is prohibited.

001.16C Cleaning food, fish or fowl or washing clothing, vehicles,
campers, or articles of household use at campground hydrants is
prohibited.

001.16D Polluting or contaminating in any manner any watershed, water
supplies or water used for drinking purposes is prohibited.

001.16E Fish entrails or other inedible parts of fish may be disposed of by
placing in a trash receptacle provided. Placing into fresh waters or onto
public land is prohibited.

001.16F Depositing any body waste in or on any portion of any comfort
station or other public structure except into fixtures provided for that
purpose is prohibited. Placing any bottle, can, cloth, rag, metal, wood or
stone substances in any of the plumbing fixtures of such structure or station
is prohibited.

001.16G Urinating or defecating other than at the places provided therefor
is prohibited.

001.16H Using Government refuse containers or other refuse facilities for
dumping household or commercial garbage or trash brought as such from
private property is prohibited.

001.17 SCUBA Diving

001.17A Definitions

001.17A1 SCUBA Diving is defined as swimming with the aid of
self-contained underwater breathing apparatus (airtank) and shall
not apply to snorkeling.

001.17A2 A Diver Down flag is defined as a flag at least twelve (12)
inches in height and at least twelve (12) inches in width with a red
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background and a white diagonal stripe that is one-fifth the width of
the flag.

001.17B SCUBA Diving Activities

001.17B1 SCUBA Diving is prohibited within 200 feet of the outer
limits of designated swimming, boat mooring, boat docking or boat
launching areas.

001.17B2 It shall be unlawful to fail to display the Diver Down flag
when SCUBA diving or for a SCUBA diver to exceed a one hundred
fifty feet (150) radius from the Diver Down flag or to display a Diver
Down flag when not actively engaged in SCUBA diving.

001.17B3 SCUBA diving is permitted in all waters owned or
controlled by the Commission except in waters and at times where
such activity is prohibited in the interest of public safety or health.

001.17C Boat Operation Within SCUBA Operations
001.17C1 It shall be unlawful to operate any vessel within one
hundred fifty (150) feet of a Diver Down flag except that this
restriction shall not apply to vessels engaged in law enforcement

activities, vessels engaged in rescue operations, or vessels
tendering the diving operation.

001.18 Skating, Skateboards
The use of roller skates and skateboards is prohibited except in locations
designated by the Commission by the posting of appropriate signs.
001.19 Snowmobiles
001.19A Control Generally
Except as hereinafter provided, no person shall operate any snowmobile
within areas of the State Park System unless such snowmobile has been
registered in accordance with applicable state law.

001.19B Definitions

Person: Any individual, partnership, corporation, the state and its agencies
and subdivision, and any body of persons, whether incorporated or not;

Snowmobile: A self-propelled vehicle designed for travel on snow or ice
steered by skis or runners, and supported in part by skis, belts, or cleats;
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Owner: A person, other than a lienholder, having the property in or title to
a snowmobile entitled to the use or possession thereof;

Operate: To ride in or on and control the operation of a snowmobile;

Operator: Every person who operates or is in actual control of a
snowmobile;

Regqister: The act of assigning a registration number to a snowmobile;

Roadway: That portion of a highway or park interior road, designed, or
ordinarily used for vehicular travel.

001.19C Registration Requirements
All snowmobiles MUST be registered.

Applications for registration of snowmobiles should be made to the County
Treasurer in your county of residence.

001.19D Out-of-State Snowmobiles

Snowmobiles from a state other than Nebraska may be operated within
state park areas providing said snowmobiles are properly registered in
accordance with the laws of their home state.

001.19E Required Equipment

No snowmobile shall be operated within areas of the State Park System
unless equipped with the following equipment:

At least one head lamp and one tail lamp, each of minimum candlepower
as prescribed by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

A minimum of sixteen (16) square inches of reflective material mounted on
each side forward of the handlebars.

Brakes, each of which shall conform to standards prescribed by the
Department of Motor Vehicles.

A muffler in good working order which blends the exhaust noise into the
overall snowmobile noise and is in constant operation to prevent excessive
or unusual noise. The exhaust system shall not emit or produce a sharp
popping or crackling sound.

001.19F Operation
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No snowmobile may be operated within State Park Areas on other than
designated trails, roadways, and parking areas. Snowmobiles may also be
operated during specified hours on the frozen surface of the following
designated lakes unless otherwise closed: Bluestem, Branched Oak,
Conestoga, Olive Creek, Pawnee, Stagecoach, Wagon Train, Enders,
Medicine Creek, Red Willow, and Swanson Reservoirs; Box Butte,
Calamus Reservoir, Fremont Lakes, Gallagher Canyon, Johnson Lake,
Lake Maloney, Lake McConaughy, Lake Minatare, Lake Ogallala, Lewis &
Clark Lake, Louisville Lakes, Merritt Reservoir, Oliver Reservoir, Rockford,
Sherman Reservoir, Summit, Sutherland Reservoir, Willow Creek and
Walgren.

The Director of the Game and Parks Commission and his designated
representatives reserve the right to temporarily close any state park area
or portion thereof to snowmobile activities for the following reasons:
Insufficient snow cover (less than 4 inches), insufficient lake ice (less than
8 inches), safety, weather, resource protection, civil emergencies or other
management considerations at the sole discretion of the Commission.

The operation of snowmobiles on designated lake surfaces is at the sole
risk of the operator. The Commission assumes no responsibility for safety
of said operation.

Snowmobile operators are responsible for inspecting frozen lake surfaces
for sufficient ice thickness (minimum 8") and for possible hidden hazards
prior to any such operation. Snowmobile operators are cautioned to be
alert for soft ice caused by flowing springs, streams, and rivers, and also
caused by variations in temperature.

Snowmobiles shall not be operated within any portion of a designated area
which has been marked off or otherwise posted as closed to showmobiles
operation by the Commission.

Snowmobiles shall not be operated in a manner intended to or reasonably
be expected to harass, drive or pursue any wildlife.

Snowmobiles shall not be operated at speed exceeding that which is safe
and reasonable when passing within thirty (30) yards of any property, ice
fishing shelter, trail head, boat ramp, immobile snowmobile, or person
walking on or fishing through the ice. In no case, shall any person or
persons operate a snowmobile so as to cause discomfort, hazard or
damage to the person or property of others.

Snowmobiles may be operated within state park areas only between the

hours of one-half hour before sunrise and 9:00 p.m. or as posted.
001.19G Who may operate
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No person under the age of twelve (12) years may operate a snowmobile
on state park lands unless accompanied by a parent, guardian or other
person over eighteen years of age.

No person over the age of twelve (12) years and under the age of sixteen
(16) years shall operate a snowmobile on state park lands unless such
person holds a valid snowmobile safety certificate or is accompanied by a
person fourteen (14) years of age or over who holds a valid showmobile
safety certificate, or is accompanied by a person over the age of eighteen
(18) years.

001.19H Unlawful Acts

It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate any snowmobile in
the following unsafe or harassing way:

At a rate of speed greater than reasonable or proper under existing
conditions;

In a careless, reckless, or negligent manner so as to endanger the person
or property of another or to cause injury or damage thereto;

While under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotics or habit-forming
drugs;

Without a lighted head and tail lamp when required for safety; and;

In a tree nursery or other area of new plantings in a manner which damages
or destroys growing stock.

001.191 Special Events

The Director of the Game and Parks Commission may issue special
temporary permits to persons and organizations desiring to conduct
organized group outings, trail rides, rallies, and other similar events. In
permitting such events, the Director may prescribe such restrictions or
conditions as he may deem advisable.

001.19J In Case of an Accident

The operator of a snowmobile involved in a collision, accident, or other
casualty shall give his name, address, and the number of such snowmobile
in writing to any injured person and to the owner of any property damaged
in such collision, accident, or casualty.

When a collision, accident, or casualty involving a snowmaobile results in
death or injury to a person or damage to property in excess of one hundred
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dollars, the operator of such snowmobile shall file with the Department of
Motor Vehicles a report of same prescribed by D.M.V. regulations.

001.20 Swimming and Wading
001.20A Swimming and wading are permitted in designated areas only.

001.20B The use of flotation devices within designated swimming areas is
prohibited, except such devices as are approved by the United States
Coast Guard. The use of surfboards and similar devices, and the throwing
of frisbees, balls and other similar devices within designated swimming
areas is prohibited.

001.20C Swimming from vessels underway is prohibited.

001.20D Swimming or wading within 20 yards of a boat ramp, boat dock
or mooring facility is prohibited.

001.20E Shallow water or surface diving within designated swimming
areas is prohibited.

001.20F Possession of glass food or beverage containers on beach areas
is prohibited.

001.21 Traffic

001.21A Except for motorized vehicles exempted under 003.02, it shall be
unlawful to park, tow or otherwise operate any motor vehicle, trailer or cabin
trailer within the confines of a park area which does not bear valid license
plates and is not registered in accordance with applicable state laws. All
such vehicles not properly licensed and registered shall be in violation and
may be impounded by the Park Superintendent or Law Enforcement
Officer.

001.21B It shall be unlawful for any person not possessing a valid motor
vehicle operator's license to operate a motor vehicle of any type within the
confines of a park area.

001.21C It shall be unlawful to park, tow or otherwise operate any motor
vehicle, trailer or cabin trailer on other than those areas or portions of areas,
roadways, campgrounds, beaches and parking areas as may be
designated by the Commission for such operation.

001.21D All traffic laws and state park regulations governing operation of
motor vehicles on roadways of the state park system shall further apply to
motor vehicle, all-terrain vehicle, off-highway amphibious vehicle and
motorized transportation device operation on those off-road portions of
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park areas, including but not limited to campgrounds, beaches and parking
areas, as may be designated by the Commission for motor vehicle, all-
terrain vehicle, off-highway amphibious vehicle or motorized transportation
device operation.

001.21E Mobile homes occupying rental sites in concession mobile home
parks shall be properly registered and shall display valid license plates in
such a manner as to be easily observed from the road.

001.21F Motor vehicles may be operated on the beaches of Lake
McConaughy and Lake Minatare State Recreation Areas provided that
operation is restricted to only those portions of beach posted as open to
motor vehicle traffic. The maximum speed allowable on beaches shall be
15 mph and access to the beaches shall be restricted to designated access
points only.

001.21G The following constitutes unsafe motor vehicle operation and is
prohibited:

001.21G1 Operating a motor vehicle without due care or at a speed
greater than that which is reasonable and prudent considering
wildlife, traffic, weather, pedestrians, road and light conditions, and
road character;

001.21G2 Operating a motor vehicle in a manner which
unnecessarily causes its tires to squeal, spin, skid or break free of
the travel surface;

001.21G3 Failing to maintain that degree of control of a motor
vehicle necessary to avoid danger to persons, property or wildlife;

001.21G4 Operating a motor vehicle while allowing a person to ride
on or within any vehicle, trailer or other mode of conveyance towed
behind the motor vehicle unless specifically designed for carrying
passengers while being towed; or

001.21G5 Operating a motor vehicle while allowing a person to ride
on any exterior portion of the motor vehicle not designed or
intended for the use of a passenger. This restriction does not apply
to a person seated on the floor of a truck bed equipped with sides,
unless otherwise prohibited by state law.

001.22 Vending
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001.22A The vending, including mobile vendors, of various goods and
services, products and commaodities, may be permitted on park lands with
the prior written authorization of the Commission. The vending of any such
goods and services, products and commodities without written
authorization of the Commission is prohibited.

001.22B No park area shall be used as a headquarters or residence by
any person or group engaged in commercial or professional activities
without prior written authorization of the Commission.

001.22C The sale or distribution of printed matter is permitted within park
areas provided a permit to do so is issued in advance by the Commission.

001.22D Persons engaged in the sale or distribution of printed matter shall
not obstruct or impede pedestrians or vehicles, harass park visitors with
physical contact or persistent demands, misrepresent the purposes or
affiliations of those engaged in the sale or distribution or misrepresent
whether the printed matter is available without cost or donation.

001.23 Water Skiing

001.23A The towing of persons on water skis, surfboards and similar
devices by vessels is permitted on areas posted as open to such activities
except on those portions of water surface restricted by buoy markers or
signs, provided such activity is conducted in accordance with appropriate
regulations.

001.24 Water Sports — General

001.24A Areas on which water related recreational activities are permitted
may be zoned to separate or define activities. Such zoning may prescribe
the area in which the public may engage in any such activities, or may limit
the hours during which the public may engage in any such activities. Such
zoning shall be clearly indicated by such signs, markers, buoys, or other
appropriate devices in widespread and common use for such purposes.

001.24B The number of participants engaging in any of the above-
mentioned water related recreation activities on any area owned or
controlled by the Commission may be limited by management personnel of
the Commission when conditions warrant such limitations in the interests
of public health, safety or welfare.

001.24C Management personnel of the Commission are herewith
specifically authorized and empowered to declare emergencies and to
require the participants in any or all of the water related activities mentioned
in the foregoing on any such areas, to cease such activity and to
temporarily vacate the water area, or a portion of the water area, in the
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event of a water accident, severe weather, or similar emergency. No
person shall have permission to engage in any such activity in any such
area or portion thereof during such declared emergency.

001.24D Appropriate fees may be established and collected by the
Commission for participation in any or all of the various water related
activities mentioned in the foregoing at any area owned or controlled by the
Commission. In such event, the fee shall be made known to the public by
signs or such other means as appropriate, and participation in any such
activity shall be conditional upon payment of the fee.

001.24E Watercraft shall not be left unattended in or near waters owned
or controlled by the Commission except at designated mooring, anchoring
or beaching locations.

001.24F Docks installed adjacent to boat ramps shall be used only for the
following purposes: Launching and recovery of watercraft, and embarking
and disembarking passengers. The mooring of watercraft at such docks
for any other reason or for a period of time greater than that reasonable to
accomplish the permitted activities is prohibited.

001.25 Winter Sports

001.25A Skiing, sledding, tobogganing, snowshoeing, skating and similar
winter sports are permitted except upon roads and parking areas when
such roads and parking areas are open to motor vehicle traffic and in other
places where these activities are prohibited by appropriate regulations
and/or posted signs.

001.25B The towing of persons on skis, sleds or other sliding devices by
a motor vehicle or snowmobile is prohibited.

001.25C The operation and use of snowmobiles shall be in accordance
with appropriate regulations and state laws.

001.26 Standards

001.26A The standards established in these regulations are in furtherance
of the preservation and protection of the natural, scenic, historic, pastoral,
and fish and wildlife values and provide for the enhancement of the
recreation values of the park area.

001.26B Use and development of property will be in conformance with
applicable Federal, State and Local laws, regulations and ordinances.
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001.26C Development, improvement and use of the property will not
materially detract from the scenic, natural, historic, pastoral and fish and
wildlife values of the area.

001.26D There will be adequate provision for disposal of solid and liquid
waste originating on or resulting from use of the property.

001.26E All new utilities will be underground.

001.26F No structures or other improvements will be constructed in or
encroaching upon stream beds, banks and flood plains of live or
intermittent streams. Stream beds, banks and flood plains will not be
disturbed, except as may be necessary to construct, operate and maintain
irrigation, fisheries, utilities, roads and similar facilities or improvements.
Any such necessary encroachment will avoid impeding water flow,
sedimentation of streams or entrance of deleterious materials into streams.

001.26G Private Cabin Areas and Club Site Areas

001.26G1 No buildings or structures or part thereof shall be
erected, constructed, reconstructed, altered, moved or used for any
purpose, except in conformance with the standards established
herein.

001.26G2 No excavation or topographic change shall be permitted
except that required for foundations, utilities, or roads, that would
modify or change the scenic beauty of natural hillsides.

001.26G3 All new buildings shall be set in a minimum of ten (10)
feet from each side of property line.

001.26G4 All new buildings shall be set back a minimum of forty
(40) feet from center of roadway or twenty (20) feet from front
property line, whichever is greatest.

001.26G5 All new buildings shall be set in a minimum of twenty
(20) feet from the rear property boundary line.

001.26G6 Only one single-family dwelling is permitted for each
cabin lot.

001.26G7 No new building shall exceed a single story in height as
determined from ground level. Construction of basements in new
or existing buildings shall not be permitted. This section does not
apply to the private cabin area at Sherman State Recreation Area
where basements, tornado shelters and second floors are permitted
at the request of the landowner, the Loup Basin Reclamation
District.
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001.26G8 No new building shall have a floor space less than 300
square feet nor greater than 700 square feet. Additions to existing
buildings presently having a floor space of 700 square feet or
greater shall not be permitted. This section does not apply to the
private cabin area at Sherman State Recreation Area where cabins
with a maximum of 1500 square feet of enclosed living space and
outbuildings of 1200 square feet are permitted at the request of the
landowner, the Loup Basin Reclamation District.

001.26G9 No new building shall be erected with foundation pillars
or stilts that exceed 36 inches above ground level. If used, pillars
or stilts must be enclosed. This section does not apply to the private
cabin area at Sherman State Recreation Area at the request of the
landowner, the Loup Basin Reclamation District.

001.26G10 All new buildings shall be constructed of such material
as to blend with the natural landscape (logs, shakes, rough lumber,
finish siding, native stone or brick).

001.26G11 Mobile or semi-mobile homes are permitted only in
approved mobile home parks.

001.26G12 All new buildings shall employ non-reflective roofing
materials.

001.26G13 Paints or stains shall be of earth tones common to the
area. Bright, disharmonious colors are prohibited.

001.26G14 All buildings and structures, including fences, shall be
maintained in a useable and serviceable condition, or removed.
Cabin lots are to be maintained in a clean and orderly condition.

001.26G15 Owner identification and sale signs shall not exceed 2
square feet in size.

001.26H Concession Areas

001.26H1 Services provided must serve needs which are not
readily or adequately provided for in an adjacent community, and
must be compatible with the purposes for which the area was
established.

001.26H2 Building architecture is to be compatible with the pastoral

environment, rustic in nature, harmoniously colored and have
non-reflective roofs and sidings.
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001.26H3 Building height shall be in keeping with building size,
scale, set back from roads and property boundaries, site size,
building design and type of use.

001.26H4 Buildings shall be set back from center line of roads to
provide for unhampered traffic flow and general safety.

001.26H5 Only signs identifying the commercial enterprise being
conducted on the property are permitted. Such signs shall not
exceed 20 square feet in area, 6 feet in length and 15 feet in
maximum height. Signs are to be subdued in appearance and
harmonizing in design and color with the surroundings.

001.26H6 No flashing lights.

001.26H7 No new mobile or semi-mobile homes and mobile home
parks shall be permitted except where they may be located without
substantially impairing or detracting from the scenic, natural,
historic, pastoral, and fish and wildlife values of the area.

001.27 Disorderly Conduct

001.27A Disorderly conduct is prohibited.

001.27B Disorderly conduct is committed when a person causes public
alarm, nuisance, jeopardy or violence, or recklessly creates a risk thereof,

by:

001.27B1 Engaging in fighting or threatening, or in violent behavior;
or

001.27B2 Using language, an utterance, or gesture, or engaging
in a display or act which is obscene, physically threatening or
menacing, or done in a manner which is likely to inflict injury or incite
an immediate breach of the peace; or

001.27B3 Making noise which is unreasonable, considering the
nature and purpose of the actor's conduct, location, time of day or
night, and other factors which would govern the conduct of a
reasonably prudent person under the circumstances; or

001.27B4 Creating or maintaining a hazardous or physically

offensive condition.

001.27C Persons committing disorderly conduct may be evicted from the

area.
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001.28 All-Terrain Vehicles and Other Motorized Off-Highway Amphibious
Vehicles

001.28A Definitions

Person: Any individual, partnership, corporation, the state and its agencies
and subdivisions, and any body of persons, whether incorporated or not;

All-Terrain Vehicle: Any motorized off-highway vehicle which (1) is fifty
inches or less in width, (2) has a dry weight of nine hundred pounds or less,
(3) travels on three or more low-pressure tires, (4) is designed for operator
use only with no passengers or is specifically designed by the original
manufacturer for the operator and one passenger, (5) has a seat or saddle
designed to be straddled by the operator, and (6) has handlebars or any
other steering assembly for steering control,

Motorized Off-Highway Amphibious Vehicle: Any motorized amphibious
off-highway vehicle which (1) is seventy inches or less in width, (2) has a
dry weight of eleven hundred pounds or less, (3) travels on tracks or low
ground pressure tires, (4) is designed for transporting persons, equipment
or supplies, and (5) has a hand-controlled skid-steering assembly for
steering control;

Owner: A person, other than a lienholder, having the property in or title to
an all-terrain or motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle entitled to the
use or possession thereof;

Operate: To ride in or on and control the operation of an all-terrain or
motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle; and,

Operator: Every person who operates or is in actual control of an all-terrain
or motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle.

001.28B Required Equipment
No all-terrain or motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle may be
operated within areas of the State Park System unless equipped with the

following equipment:

At least one head lamp and one tail lamp, each of minimum candle power
as prescribed by the Department of Motor Vehicles for all-terrain vehicles.

A brake system maintained in good operating condition which shall conform

to standards prescribed by the Department of Motor Vehicles for all-terrain
vehicles.
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An adequate muffler system in good working order which blends the
exhaust noise into the overall all-terrain or motorized off-highway
amphibious vehicle noise and is in constant operation to prevent excessive
or unusual noise. The exhaust shall not emit or produce a sharp popping
or crackling sound.

A bicycle safety flag which extends not less than five feet above ground
attached to the rear of the vehicle. The bicycle safety flag shall be
triangular in shape with an area of not less than thirty inches and be day-
glow in color.

001.28C Operation

All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles may be
operated during specified hours within state park areas on the frozen
surfaces of the following designated lakes only, unless otherwise posted
closed to such use: Bluestem, Branched Oak, Conestoga, Olive Creek,
Pawnee, Stagecoach, Wagon Train, Enders, Medicine Creek, Red Willow,
and Swanson Reservoirs; Box Butte, Calamus, Fremont Lakes, Gallagher
Canyon, Johnson Lake, Lake Maloney, Lake McConaughy, Lake Minatare,
Lake Ogallala, Lewis and Clark Lake, Louisville Lakes, Merritt Reservoir,
Oliver Reservoir, Rockford Lake, Sherman Reservoir, Summit Lake,
Sutherland Reservoir, Willow Creek Lake and Walgren Lake.

The Director of the Game and Parks Commission and his designated
representatives reserve the right to temporarily close any state park area
or portion thereof to all-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious
vehicle activities for the following reasons: insufficient lake ice (less than
eight inches), safety, weather, resource protection, civil emergencies or
other management considerations at the sole discretion of the Director.

The operation of all-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles
on designated lake surfaces is at the sole risk of the operator. The
Commission assumes no responsibility for safety of said operation.
All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle operators are
responsible for inspecting frozen lake surfaces for sufficient ice thickness
(minimum 8 inches) and for possible hidden hazards prior to any such
operation. All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle
operators are cautioned to be alert for soft ice caused by flowing springs,
streams, and rivers and also caused by variations in temperature.

All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles shall not be
operated within any portion of a designated area which has been marked
off or otherwise posted as closed to all-terrain and motorized off-highway
amphibious vehicle operation by the Commission.
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All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles shall not be
operated in any manner intended to or reasonably be expected to harass,
drive or pursue any wildlife.

All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles shall not be
operated at speed exceeding that which is safe and reasonable when
passing within thirty (30) yards of any property, ice fishing shelter, boat
ramp, immobile snowmobile, all-terrain or motorized off-highway
amphibious vehicle, or a person walking on or fishing through the ice. In no
case, shall any person or persons operate an all-terrain vehicle so as to
cause discomfort, hazard or damage to the person or property of others.

All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles may be
operated on designated frozen surfaces within state park areas only
between the hours of ¥2-hour before sunrise and 9:00 p.m., or as posted.

All-terrain and motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles may be
operated in boat ramp parking lots between the hours of ¥2-hour before
sunrise and 9:00 p.m., or as posted, to facilitate loading and off-loading
said vehicles and providing access to frozen lake surfaces via boat ramps.

001.28D Who may operate

Any person operating an all-terrain or motorized off-highway amphibious
vehicle within a state park area shall be at least sixteen (16) years of age
and shall have a valid motor vehicle operator's license.

001.28E Unlawful Acts

It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate any all-terrain or
motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle in the following unsafe or
harassing way:

At a rate of speed greater than reasonable or proper under existing
conditions;

In a careless, reckless, or negligent manner so as to endanger the person
or property of another or to cause injury or damage thereto;

While under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotics or habit-forming
drugs; and,

Without a lighted head and tail lamp when required for safety.
001.28F In Case of an Accident

The operator of an all-terrain or motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle
involved in a collision, accident, or other casualty shall give his name,
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address, and the number of such all-terrain or motorized off-highway
amphibious vehicle in writing to any injured person and to the owner of any
property damaged in such collision, accident, or casualty.

When a collision, accident, or casualty involving an all-terrain or motorized
off-highway amphibious vehicle results in death or injury to a person or
damage to property in excess of one hundred dollars, the operator of such
all-terrain or motorized off-highway amphibious vehicle shall file with the
Department of Motor Vehicles a report of same as prescribed in D.M.V.
regulations for all-terrain vehicles.

001.29 State Recreation Trails
001.29A Permits, Trail User, Voluntary

001.29A1 Voluntary, non-mandatory, Trail User Permits may be
purchased for use on sections of designated state recreation trails
designated as open for public use. Voluntary permits may be
purchased from any Game and Parks Commission District Office
and from self-service drop boxes provided at trail heads. Revenues
received will be utilized by the Commission to assist with funding
trail development, maintenance and enforcement of rules and
regulations.

001.29A2 Voluntary Trail User Permits are available in two forms:
Annual and Daily. Voluntary Annual permits may be purchased by
any person and shall be valid through December 31 for the year for
which issued. The annual fee shall be ten dollars. Voluntary daily
permits may be purchased by any person and shall be valid for the
day indicated on the permit. The daily fee shall be two dollars.

001.29B Motor Vehicles Prohibited

001.29B1 Except as hereinafter provided, it shall be unlawful to
park, tow, or otherwise operate a motor vehicle on any section of a
state recreation trail in other than designated parking areas. This
provision shall include, but shall not be limited to, trucks,
automobiles, motor cycles, mini bikes, mopeds, all-terrain vehicles,
motorized off-highway amphibious vehicles, and snowmobiles.
State Recreation Trails are for non-motorized recreational use only.

001.29B2 Vehicles owned by the Commission, its agents or
contractors, engaged in servicing, enforcement, maintenance,
repair, or construction activities, and vehicles employed in
enforcement and emergency response activities, are exempt from
this provision.
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001.29C Camping, Hunting, Trapping, Fires, Use of Fire Arms, Paint Ball
Weapons, Bow and Arrows and other Projectile Devices Prohibited:

001.29C1 State recreation trails are available for day use activities
only. Camping or other overnight use is expressly prohibited. Trails
are open to public use only between the hours of one-half hour
before sunrise and one-half hour after sunset.

001.29C2 The kindling of fires on state recreation trails is
prohibited.

001.29C3 Hunting, trapping, or the use of firearms, bow and arrow,
paint ball weapons, or other projectile devices is prohibited on state
recreation trails.

001.29D Equestrian Use, Permitted

Horseback riding is permitted on state recreation trail rights-of-way, subject
to the following provisions:

001.29D1 Horseback riders shall not ride on trail surfaces except
when wetlands or terrain necessitates crossing bridges and road
intersections.

001.29D2 Horseback riders shall dismount when crossing bridges.
001.29E Livestock Use, Prohibited

Without the prior permission of the Park Superintendent, livestock may not
be grazed, pastured or driven on any portion of any recreational trail rights-
of-way. If permitted by the Park Superintendent, the following provisions

apply:

001.29E1 Livestock, including horses, cattle, swine, sheep and
poultry shall be kept off the maintained trail surface, except(1) at
crossings of public roads and highways, (2) at farm crossings
designated for use by proprietors of lands adjoining such right-of-
way for which written crossing agreements have been issued by the
commission and, (3) when wetlands or terrain necessitates
crossing bridges.

001.29E2 Permission shall be subject to such conditions as are
reasonably consistent with protection and use of the recreational
trail for the purposes for which it is established. Such permission
may also contain reasonable limitations on the equipment used and
the time and area within which the livestock activity may be allowed.
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001.29E3 Permission may be suspended or revoked by the Park
Superintendent for failure by the permittee to comply with any
provisions of this section.

001.29F Trail Use Generally

Bicyclists shall yield the right of way to all other trail users. Pedestrians
shall yield the right of way to horseback riders.

001.29G Boundary Fences, Responsibilities of Commission and Adjacent
Landowners, Procedures for Applying for Funding

001.29G1 Boundary fences of State Recreational Trails shall be
constructed and maintained as prescribed in § 37-1012,. For this
section, a boundary fence shall be a wire fence of at least four
barbed wires, of a size not less than twelve and one-half gauge
fencing wire, the wire to be secured to posts, the posts to be at no
greater distance than one rod from each other, or a fence of any
type that is agreed to by the Commission and adjoining landowners.

001.29G2 The Commission will participate in one hundred percent
of the costs for labor and materials for construction of new or
replacement fencing, as agreed upon between the adjacent
landowner and the Commission, for developed portions of
recreational trails open to the public. The Commission will
participate on a fifty-fifty basis with adjacent landowners for
construction of new or replacement fencing, or repairs to existing
fencing, on undeveloped portions of recreational trails not open to
public use.

001.29G3 The responsibility of the Commission for fences along a
state recreational trail shall not exceed the amount appropriated to
the Commission by the Legislature for such purpose during any
biennium, provided the Commission may use any funds specifically
gifted or obtained by grant application for the sole purpose of
providing fencing for a state recreational trail. The amount of
funding available to a single landowner shall not exceed twenty-five
percent of the Commission’s total appropriation in any one year,
unless uncommitted funds are available following processing of all
other applications.

001.29G4 Prior to commencing any work, adjacent landowners
shall submit application in writing to the Commission for funding
assistance in the construction of any new fence, replacement fence
or fence repair. Costs incurred by the landowner for new fence,
replacement fence or fence repair prior to submitting application to
the Commission may not be reimbursed. Application shall be
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mailed or hand-delivered to: Division of State Parks, Nebraska
Game and Parks Commission, 2200 North 33 Street, Lincoln, NE
68503-0370. Commission staff and the landowner will jointly review
each request for new or replacement fence and mutually agree
upon the type and amount of fence to be constructed.

001.29G5 Applications for Commission participation in construction
of new or replacement fence must be submitted no later than April
1%t of each calendar year for consideration in that year. Requests
will be prioritized, based upon condition of existing fence and
urgency.

001.29G6 Applications for Commission participation in the repair of
existing fence shall be considered and prioritized in the order in
which received. In the case of emergency fence repair involving
livestock on the trail or roadway, the landowner may undertake such
repairs without prior notification, provided such notification is given
in writing within seven calendar days of completion of such work.
To obtain reimbursement of costs, the landowner will be required to
submit original receipts for materials purchased. Only actual and
reasonable material costs will be reimbursed. "Actual costs of
materials" shall be defined as those posts (steel or wood), wire
(barbed or smooth), staples, and insulators purchased to affect the
repairs. There will be no reimbursement for labor, mileage,
gasoline, tools, meals, lodging, or other costs. Replacement
materials may be offered as reimbursement, if acceptable to the
landowner.

On January 1, 2011, the following Sub-section 001.11 shall become effective and
shall supersede and take the place of any prior version of that section.

001.30 Exceptions to Regulations

001.30A Nothing in the foregoing shall be construed as prohibiting the
Nebraska Game and Parks Commission or their duly appointed agents or
employees from the conduct of their assigned duties in the administration,
maintenance and development of areas owned or controlled by the
Commission.

001.30B In the event of natural disaster, state or national emergency, civil
disorder, accident, or other situation wherein the conduct of activities
otherwise permitted under these regulations may constitute a hazard to the
public health, safety or welfare, or inhibit rescue, recovery, post-disaster or
development operations, management personnel of the Commission or
Law Enforcement personnel are herewith specifically empowered and
directed to take such measures at their disposal to preserve the public
health, safety and welfare and to expedite rescue, recovery and operations,
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to include the temporary suspension of any or all activities contemplated
in these regulations on any area or portion of any area owned or controlled

by the Commission and the temporary closure and/or evacuation of any
such area.

5-001-42



Title 163
Chapter 5

NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

Last Issue Date: October 26, 2000

Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS COMMISSION

Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

002

Regulations for Two Rivers State Recreation Area.

Under the authority of, and in compliance with, sections
37-301-37-314, 37-336, and 37-344, R.R.S. 1998, the following
regulations are prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission of
the State of Nebraska and are effective following enactment by
the Game and Parks Commission, approval by the Attorney
General and Governor, and when five days have elapsed since
filing with the Secretary of State.

002.01 Hunting will be permitted within the boundaries of Two
Rivers State Recreation Area as prescribed by regulation and
as further prescribed herein:

002.01A Waterfowl may be hunted and shot by hunters from
temporary or portable blinds furnished by the hunters.
Waterfowl hunting shall be restricted to such areas as
may be established by the Commission and posted with
appropriate signs. No additional fee shall be charged to
hunt waterfowl at Two Rivers and all blinds shall be
removed from the recreation area daily at close of
hunting. Construction of permanent or seasonal blinds is
prohibited. The Commission may at its sole discretion
limit the number of persons hunting waterfowl at Two
Rivers for reasons of safety and other management
considerations.

002.01B The federal regulations governing limits,
methods of taking and hours of shooting of migratory game
birds shall apply on this area, except as otherwise
provided herein.

002.01C Not more than four (4) persons, including
non-hunters, may occupy one blind at one time.

002.01D No discharge of firearms or bow and arrow shall

be permitted within the confines of areas posted to
prohibit same.
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002.01E In accordance with State Park Regulations any

hunting at Two Rivers State Recreation Area is permitted

from the first Tuesday following Labor Day through
conclusion of the Spring Turkey season, except for any
special waterfowl season as may be provided by state and
federal regulations.

002.01F Hunting is permitted from one-half hour before
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset or in accordance
with general hunting regulations if more restrictive.

002.01G The entire Two Rivers State Recreation Area may
be closed to all forms of hunting or to any particular
form of hunting, including restrictions on species of
wildlife to be hunted or on the type of weapon or
ammunition that may be permitted for such hunting by
posting such information on a legible sign with letters
not less than 1 * inches in height at the main entrance
to Two Rivers State Recreation Area.
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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
Last Issue Date: October 26, 2000
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS COMMISSION
Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

003 Regulation prohibiting operation of Motorized Transportation
Devices on areas owned or controlled by said Commission. Under the
provisions and authority of section 60-678,60-680, 60-6,351, 60-
6,375, 60-6,377, R.S.SUPP., 2002, the following regulations are
adopted and promulgated by the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.
These rules and regulations are effective following enactment by
the Game and Parks Commission, approval by the Attorney General and
Governor, and when five days have elapsed since filing with the
Secretary of State.

003.01 Motorized Transportation Devices Defined

For purposes of this section, a Motorized Transportation
Device is defined as any vehicle or device that may not be
registered and licensed for operation on the highways of
Nebraska, is propelled by other than muscular power, and is
intended to transport or draw persons or property, excluding
those used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks,
snowmobiles, mopeds, all-terrain vehicles and off-highway
amphibious vehicles. Examples of Motorized Transportation
Devices contemplated in this section include but, are not
limited to, the following:

Electric Vehicle: A motorized vehicle that is powered by an
electric motor that draws current from rechargeable storage
batteries, fuel cells, or other sources of electrical current;

Electric Personal Assistive Mobility Device: Any self-
balancing, two, non-tandem-wheeled, device, designed to
transport only one person, with an electric propulsion system
with average power of 750 watts (1 horsepower), the maximum
speed of which, on a paved level surface when powered solely
by such a propulsion system while being ridden by an operator
who weighs 170 pounds, is less than 20 miles per hour;

Farm Tractor: Any motorized device designed and used
primarily as a farm implement drawing plows, mowing
machines, and other implements of husbandry;
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Golf Cart: Any motorized device designed and manufactured
for operation on a golf course for sporting or
recreational purposes and that 1s not capable of
exceeding speeds of 20 miles per hour;

Low Speed Vehicle: Any multi-wheeled, electric- or
gasoline-powered, device whose top speed is greater than
20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour;

Mini-bike: Any two-wheel motorized vehicle which has a
total wheel and tire diameter of less than fourteen
inches or an engine-rated capacity of less than forty-
five cubic centimeters displacement or any other two-
wheel motorized vehicle primarily designed Dby the
manufacturer for off-road use only;

Motorized Disability Access Vehicle: A vehicle designed
primarily for disabled individuals with normal upper body
abilities and designed to be fueled by gasoline, travel
on no more than three wheels, with a motor rated not in
excess of 2 Dbrake horsepower and not capable of
propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles
per hour on level ground, and with a power-drive system
that functions directly or automatically without
clutching or shifting gears by the operator after the
drive system 1s engaged. If an internal combustion
engine is used, the displacement may not exceed 50 cubic
centimeters;

Motorized Scooter: Any motorized device not having a seat
or saddle for the use of the rider, designed to travel on
not more than three wheels, and not capable of propelling
the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles per hour on
level ground; and,

Utility Vehicle: A motorized vehicle designed and
manufactured for general maintenance, security, and
landscaping purposes, but the term does not include any
vehicle designed or used primarily for the transportation
of persons or property on a street or highway, or a golf
cart, or an all-terrain vehicle.

003.02 Operation

The operation of motorized transportation devices in state
parks, including on roads, trails and beaches, is prohibited,
with the following exceptions:
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Motorized devices operated by Commission employees
engaged in the performance of their duties;

Motorized devices operated by disabled persons in
possession of a valid written permit issued by the
Commission;

Motorized devices operated by contracted volunteer park
workers engaged in the performance of their duties;

Tractors operated on the beaches of Lake McConaughy and
Lake Minatare with written permission from the Commission
for the purposes of launching and recovering water craft
and assisting stranded vehicles; and,

Motorized devices, excluding minibikes and motorized
scooters, operated within the leased premises of
concession areas and private cabin areas.

Motorized transportation devices shall not be operated
within any portion of a state park area which has been
marked off or otherwise posted as closed to motorized
transportation device operation.

003.03 Who may operate

Any person operating a motorized transportation device within
a state park area shall be at least sixteen years of age and
shall have a valid motor wvehicle operator’s license. The
valid motor vehicle operator’s license requirement shall be
waived for any disabled person operating an electric personal
assistive device or motorized disability access vehicle,
provided he or she possesses a valid written permit issued by
the Commission, and wears a Dbicycle helmet that is
professionally fitted, is securely fastened upon his or her
head by a strap, and that meets nationally recognized
standards for bicycle helmets.

Any person operating an authorized motorized device within the
leased premises of a concession area or private cabin area
shall be at least sixteen years of age and shall have a valid
motor vehicle operator’s license.

All traffic laws and state park regulations governing
operation of motor vehicles on roadways of the state park
system shall further apply to the operation of motorized
transportation devices operated in state park areas.
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Motorized transportation devices shall not be operated in any
manner intended to or reasonably expected to harass, drive or
pursue any wildlife.

003.04 Required Equipment

No motorized transportation device as defined in this section
may be operated within state park areas unless equipped with
the following equipment:

A brake system maintained in good operating condition;

An adequate muffler system in good working order which blends
the exhaust noise into the overall motorized vehicle noise and
is 1in constant operation to prevent excessive or unusual
noise. The exhaust shall not emit or produce a sharp popping
or crackling sound;

A rearview mirror and red reflectorized warning devices in
both the front and rear; and,

A bicycle safety flag which extends not less than five feet
above ground attached to the rear of the vehicle. The bicycle
safety flag shall be triangular in shape with an area of not
less than thirty square inches and be day-glow in color.

003.05 Unlawful Acts

It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate any
motorized transportation device:

At a rate of speed greater than reasonable or proper under
existing conditions;

In a careless, reckless, or negligent manner so as to endanger
the person or property of another or to cause injury or damage
thereto;

While under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotics
or habit-forming drugs;

Between sunset and sunrise; and,
Without a day-glow bicycle safety flag that extends not less
than five feet above ground attached to the rear of the

vehicle.
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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
Last Issue Date: October 26, 2000
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS COMMISSION

Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

004 Regulations governing public hunting at Fort Robinson State
Park.

Under the authority of, and in compliance with, sections 37-301-37-
314, and 37-344, R.R.S. 1998, the following regulations are
prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission of the State of
Nebraska. These regulations are effective following enactment by
the Commission, approval by the Attorney General and Governor, and
when five days have elapsed since filing with the Secretary of
State.

004.01 Hunting shall be permitted on Fort Robinson State Park
in accord with established hunting seasons, provided, firearm
hunting for deer, antelope, mountain (bighorn) sheep, and elk
within the Park shall be subject to additional regulations.
The Director shall have the authority to provide flexible
safety zones around buildings or other portions of the Park,
in which no hunting shall be permitted. Regulations relative
to firearm hunting of deer, antelope, mountain (bighorn) sheep
and elk within that portion of the Park hereinafter referred
to as the Controlled Area, are as follows:

004.01A No person shall hunt deer, antelope, mountain
(bighorn) sheep or elk with a firearm within the
Controlled Area without first obtaining daily permission
to hunt therein, by registering in person at the park
headquarters and obtaining written evidence of such
registration. Any persons hunting deer, antelope,
mountain (bighorn) sheep or elk with a firearm within the
Controlled Area shall show his certificate of
registration to any law enforcement officer or Game and
Parks Commission employee upon request. Failure to
possess or to show valid daily registration upon proper
request shall be a violation of regulations.

004.01B Authority is herewith delegated by the Game and

Parks Commission to the Director to divide the

Controlled Area into reasonable areas; hunters may be

assigned to these areas and daily permit quotas may be
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designated. Harvest quotas for antelope will be decided
by the Director based on recommendations provided by the
Wildlife Division, and permit quotas each day shall not
exceed the number which could result in the designated
harvest quota. Hunters assigned to a designated portion
of the Controlled Area shall have permission to hunt
only within their assigned area. All hunters shall
personally return their certification of registration to
park headquarters upon completion of their daily hunt.

004.01C Public notice shall be made, regarding hunting
of deer, antelope, mountain (bighorn) sheep and elk and
the number of permits available. Daily hunting permits
shall be issued to individuals who register by 5:00 P.M.
on the day preceding the hunt, on the basis of a public
drawing if there are more registrants than there are area

permits available. Any permits remaining after the
drawing will be issued on a first-come, first-served
basis.

004.02 Bow and arrow hunters, for deer, antelope, mountain
(bighorn) sheep and elk must obtain a registration certificate
at Park headquarters, which shall be good for the entire

archery season. Such registration certificate shall be
returned to park headquarters by the end of the hunting
Season.
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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
LAST ISSUE DATE: January 7, 2003
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME And PARKS COMMISSION
Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

005 Regulation's governing public hunting at Eugene T. Mahoney,
Chadron, Indian Cave, Niobrara, Platte River, Ponca and Smith Falls
State Parks. Under the authority of, and in compliance with
Sections 37-301 through 37-302, 37-304 through 37-308, 37-309
through 37-313, 37-344, R.R.S. 1998, 37-314, R.R.S. 1999, 37-303,
R.R.S. 2000, 37-308.01, R.R.S. 2002, the following regulations are
prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission of the State of
Nebraska, and are effective following enactment by the Game and
Parks Commission, approval by the Attorney General and Governor,
and when five days have elapsed since filing with the Secretary of
State.

005.01 Hunting may be permitted on Eugene T. Mahoney, Chadron,
Indian Cave, Niobrara, Platte River, Ponca and Smith Falls
State Parks in accord with established hunting seasons and
permit requirements and shall be subject to the following
terms and conditions:

005.01A Commission staff will ©prepare an annual
recommendation for Commission review and approval. The
recommendation will designate which game species may be
hunted, open hunting periods, the areas at each park open
for hunting and any other special area restrictions or
limitations.

005.01B No person shall hunt within the confines of these
State Parks without first obtaining permission to hunt
therein. Any person desiring to hunt within the confines
of these State Parks must first register to hunt in
person at the park headquarters and obtain written
evidence of such registration. Such written evidence of
registration shall be prima facia evidence of permission
to hunt within the confines of these State Parks. Any
person hunting within the confines of these State Parks
shall show his certificate of registration to any law
enforcement officer or Game and Parks Commission employee
upon demand. Any person hunting within the confines of
these State Parks who does not possess on his person or
who fails to show upon demand his written permission to
hunt therein shall be deemed to not have permission to
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hunt within the confines of these State Parks.

005.01C By enactment of these regulations, it is the
intent of the Game and Parks Commission to provide for
the optimum recreational use of these State Parks by the
using public. Public hunting at these State Parks is,
therefore, recognized as a sound and proper use of these
State Parks, when such hunting is compatible with public
safety, fire and property ©protection, and sound
management of the wildlife species found within the
confines of these State Parks. Because the circumstances
involving public safety, fire and property protection,
and sound wildlife management may change from day to day
within the confines of these State Parks, the Game and
Parks Commission herewith delegates to the Division of
State Parks authority to limit the number of registrants,
or refuse registrations to hunt, or may limit such
registrations to specific game species or to any portion
of these State Parks as the primary considerations of
public safety, fire and property protection, and sound
wildlife management dictate. Registrations shall be
accepted on the basis of a public drawing if there are
more registrants than area permits available and
remaining permits will be issued on an impartial first-
come, first-served basis. This delegation to control
public hunting at these State Parks shall also include
authority to provide flexible safety zones around
buildings or other portions of these State Parks, in
which safety zones no permission shall be granted for
public hunting.

005.01D To further provide for public safety, fire and
property protection and sound wildlife management,
authority is herewith delegated by the Game and Parks
Commission to the Division of State Parks to divide these
State Parks into reasonable areas to which one or more
hunters may be assigned. Such assigned hunters shall have
permission to hunt only their assigned area, and shall
not be deemed to have permission to hunt these State
Parks outside of their assigned areas. Such area
assignments shall be indicated in the aforementioned
written evidence of registration.

005.01E Be it further provided that in the performance

of hunting at these State Parks, individual registrations

may be granted by the park authority for a valid period

of one or more days. All hunters so authorized shall

personally return the certificate of registration to the
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park headquarters upon completion of their successful

hunt or at the end of the registration authority as
applicable.
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CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION
STATE OF NEBRASKA
STATE PARK

PERMISSION TO HUNT

Under the authority of, and in compliance with Sections 37-301
through 37-301 through 37-302, 37-304 through 37-308, 37-309
through 37-313, 37-344 R.R.S. 1998, 37-314 R.R.S. 1999, 37-303
R.R.S. 2000, 37-308.01 R.R.S. 2002, and other applicable statutes

of Nebraska, the Commission hereby authorizes

to hunt within the confines
of State Park for the period: ’
to

I understand this is a limited permit and that I may only hunt in

designated areas within the park during the indicated time period.
I have reviewed the map provided and any special regulations

listed and agree to conduct my hunt(s) within those guidelines.

Keep this permit with you while hunting at State
Park. Upon completion of hunting or filling your permit, please
fill out the survey on the back of this form and return it to the
office or as otherwise directed.

Thank you for your cooperation. The information provided by the
accompanying survey will assist staff with determining future
hunting opportunities.

REGISTRANTS PERMIT#:

For
Registrant Signature Nebraska Game & Parks Comm.
Division of State Parks

OFFICE COPY - PERMISSION TO HUNT

NAME :

ADDRESS:

PHONE : DATE:

REGISTRANTS PERMIT#:
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STATE PARK HUNTER SURVEY

UPLAND GAME & SMALL GAME

WATERFOWL

BIG GAME (Deer & Turkey)

RETURN COMPLETED SURVEY TO:

SPECIES

TOTAL BAG
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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
Last Issue Date: October 26, 2000
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS COMMISSION

Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

06 Regulations governing public hunting at Bridgeport State

Recreation Area.

Under authority of and in compliance with sections 37-301 -37-314,
and 37-344, R.R.S. 1998, the following regulations are prescribed
by the Game and Parks Commission of the State of Nebraska, and are
effective following enactment by the Game and Parks Commission,
approval by the Attorney General and Governor, and when five days
have elapsed since filing with the Secretary of State.

006.01 It shall be unlawful to use rifles or handguns to
hunt, take or attempt to take game, or to discharge rifles or
handguns for any other purpose, within the boundaries of
Bridgeport State Recreation Area situated in Morrill County,
Nebraska, providing that it shall not be unlawful to take game
by either a muzzle-loading rifle or a shotgun using a single
ball or slug.
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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
LAST APPROVED DATE: October 26, 2000
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS COMMISSION

Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

007 Regulations governing public hunting at Pawnee State
Recreation Area.

Under authority of and in compliance with sections 37-301 through
37-313, 37-344, R.R.S. 1998, and 37-314, R.R.S. 1999, the following
regulations are prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission of the
State of Nebraska, and are effective following enactment by the
Game and Parks Commission, approval by the Attorney General and
Governor, and when five days have elapsed since filing with the
Secretary of State.

007.01 It shall be unlawful to discharge center-fire or rim-
fire rifles and handguns to hunt, take or attempt to take
game, or to discharge center-fire or rim-fire rifles and
handguns for any other purpose, within the Dboundaries of
Pawnee State Recreation Area situated in Lancaster County,
Nebraska.
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LAST APPROVED DATE: March 30, 2004
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS COMMISSION
Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

08 Regulations governing public use of the Cow Beach Recreation
Access at Enders State Recreation Area.
Under authority of and in compliance with sections 37-301 and 37-
302, 37-304 through 37-308, 37-309 through 37-313, 37-344,
R.R.S.1998, 37-314, R.R.S.1999, 37-303, R.R.S.2000, and 37-308.01,
R.R.S.2002, the following regulations are prescribed by the Game

and Parks Commission of the State of Nebraska, and are effective

follo

wing enactment by the Game and Parks Commission, approval by

the Attorney General and Governor, and when five days have elapsed

since

filing with the Secretary of State.

008.01 Enders State Recreation Area contains land and water
designated as refuge posted as the Cow Beach Recreation Access
located in the E 3%, Sec. 31, T6N, R37W, Chase County,
Nebraska.

008.02 Trapping and hunting or the use of firearms, bow and
arrow, or other projectile devices is prohibited within the
boundaries of those portions of Enders State Recreation Area
situated in Chase County, Nebraska, contained within the
Enders Reservoir State Waterfowl Refuge (Chapter 4, Section
024), and designated as the Cow Beach Recreation Access.

008.03 Motorized vehicles shall be restricted to surfaced
roadways and parking lot(s) at all times.

008.04 The Cow Beach Recreation Access 1is open to day-use
activities only between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 p.m.,
daily, between Memorial Day Weekend and Labor Day Weekend.
Beginning the first Tuesday following Labor Day, the area
will be closed to motorized vehicle access until the last
Friday prior to Memorial Day; walk-in traffic only 1is
permitted during this period. Camping is prohibited year-
round.

008.05 Fires are permitted only in fireplaces provided for
the use of visitors. The kindling of fires and the possession
of glass beverage containers on the Dbeach, rocadways and
parking lot(s) are prohibited.
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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
LAST APPROVED DATE: New
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME AND PARKS COMMISSION
Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

009 Regulations governing installation and wuse of seasonal
waterfowl hunting blinds at Lake McConaughy State Recreation Area.

Under authority of and in compliance with sections 37-301 through
37-314, and 37-337 through 37-352, R.R.S.2004, the following
regulations are prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission of the
State of Nebraska, and are effective following enactment by the
Game and Parks Commission, approval by the Attorney General and
Governor, and when five days have elapsed since filing with the
Secretary of State.

009.01 The installation and use of seasonal waterfowl hunting
blinds may be permitted by the Commission within the boundary
of Lake McConaughy State Recreation Area during periods of
drought conditions which, at the sole discretion of the
Commission, are determined to unreasonably interfere with
waterfowl hunter access to the lakeshore.

009.02 When seasonal waterfowl hunting blinds are authorized
by the Commission, they shall be installed within one hundred
feet of the lake’s shoreline (water’s edge). Seasonal blinds
installed at a distance greater than one hundred feet from the
shoreline shall be removed by the Commission and the owner of
such blinds invoiced for the cost of such removal.

009.03 When seasonal waterfowl hunting blinds are authorized
by the Commission, they shall not be installed prior to the
first Tuesday following Labor Day and shall be removed from
the recreation area within ten (10) days following the
conclusion of the open waterfowl season. Blinds remaining on
the area after ten (10) days following conclusion of the open
waterfowl season shall be removed by the Commission and the
owner of such blinds invoiced for the cost of such removal.

009.04 In the event an established blind is vacant prior to or
during shooting hours, the blind is considered available for
use by other hunters on a first-come basis, regardless of
ownership of the blind. The first person to occupy the blind
each day shall be entitled to occupy the blind for that day.
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009.05 Hunting is allowed in accordance with regular hunting
season dates and regulations. All other regulations
prescribed by the Commission for the open waterfowl season
shall apply.

009.06 Blinds shall not be installed within one hundred yards
of any public-use facility or developed activity area,
including private cabin and concession areas, boat ramps and
parking lots.

009.07 Seasonal blinds must legibly display, on the door, the
name and address of the owner.

009.08 The door to any seasonal blind shall be constructed so
that it can be opened from the outside at all times when not
in use. Blinds may not be locked when not in use.

009.09 Seasonal blinds shall not be installed on areas of land

or water posted with appropriate signs which prohibit such
activity.
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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
LAST ISSUE DATE: October 30, 2008
Title 163 - NEBRASKA GAME And PARKS COMMISSION
Chapter 5 - State Park Regulations

010 Regulation's governing public hunting at Fort Atkinson, Ash
Hollow and Rock Creek Station State Historical Parks.

Under the authority of, and in compliance with Sections 37-301
through 37-314, and 37-344, the following regulations are
prescribed by the Game and Parks Commission of the State of
Nebraska, and are effective following enactment by the Game and
Parks Commission, approval by the Attorney General and Governor,
and when five days have elapsed since filing with the Secretary of
State.

010.01 Hunting may be permitted on Fort Atkinson, Ash Hollow
and Rock Creek Station State Historical Parks in accord with
established hunting seasons and permit requirements and shall
be subject to the following terms and conditions:

010.01A Commission staff will prepare an annual
recommendation for Commission review and approval. The
recommendation will designate which game species may be
hunted, open hunting periods, the areas at each park open
for hunting and any other special area restrictions or
limitations.

010.01B No person shall hunt within the confines of these
State Parks without first obtaining permission to hunt
therein. Any person desiring to hunt within the confines
of these State Parks must first register to hunt in
person at the park headquarters and obtain written
evidence of such registration. Such written evidence of
registration shall be prima facia evidence of permission
to hunt within the confines of these state historical
parks mentioned in Section 010.01 above. Any person
hunting within the confines of these state historical
parks shall show their certificate of registration to any
law enforcement officer or Game and Parks Commission
employee upon demand. Any person hunting within the
confines of these state historical parks who does not
possess on their person or who fails to show upon demand
written permission to hunt therein shall be deemed to not
have permission to hunt within the confines of these
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state historical parks.

010.01C By enactment of these regulations, it is the
intent of the Game and Parks Commission to provide for
the optimum recreational use of these historical parks by
the using public. Public hunting at these state
historical parks is, therefore, recognized as a sound and
proper use of these state historical parks, when such
hunting 1is compatible with public safety, fire and
property protection, and sound management of the wildlife
species found within the confines of these state
historical parks. Because the circumstances involving
public safety, fire and property protection, and sound
wildlife management may change from day to day within the
confines of these state historical parks, the Game and
Parks Commission herewith delegates to the Division of
State Parks authority to limit the number of registrants,
or refuse registrations to hunt, or may 1limit such
registrations to specific game species or to any portion
of these State Parks as the primary considerations of
public safety, fire and property protection, and sound
wildlife management dictate. Registrations shall be
accepted on the basis of a public drawing if there are
more registrants than area permits available and
remaining permits will be issued on an impartial first-
come, first-served basis. This delegation to control
public hunting at these state historical parks shall also
include authority to provide flexible safety zones around
buildings or other portions of these state historical
parks, in which safety zones no permission shall be
granted for public hunting.

010.01D To further provide for public safety, fire and
property protection and sound wildlife management,
authority is herewith delegated by the Game and Parks
Commission to the Division of State Parks to divide these
state historical parks into reasonable areas to which one
or more hunters may be assigned. Such assigned hunters
shall have permission to hunt only their assigned area,
and shall not be deemed to have permission to hunt these
state historical parks outside of their assigned areas.
Such area assignments shall Dbe indicated in the
aforementioned written evidence of registration.

010.01E Be it further provided that in the performance
of hunting at these state historical parks, individual

registrations may be granted by the park authority for

a valid period of one or more days.
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